October 8, 2026

/ Best/List

11 min read

Best CRM software for law firms in 2026

Leads slipping through your inbox? See which CRM fits your firm, from HubSpot and MyCase to Lawmatics, Clio Grow, Filevine and Litify, with limits and prices.

Best CRM software for law firms in 2026

The best CRM for law firms in 2026 depends on how many leads you handle. HubSpot or the intake built into MyCase and PracticePanther suits solo and small firms, Lawmatics and Clio Grow suit firms that want automated intake, and Filevine, Litify and Law Ruler suit high volume plaintiff firms. Smokeball fits firms that want intake inside a case management suite.

The ABA TechReport 2022 for solo and small firms found CRM use at 17% of solo attorneys, 39% of firms with 2 to 9 lawyers, and 22% of firms with 10 to 49 lawyers. Most firms still run intake from an inbox and a phone. Clio’s 2019 Legal Trends Report tested 1,000 firms with mock client inquiries: only 40% answered the email, 39% of calls went to voicemail, and more than half of firms did not return those voicemails within 72 hours.

Those numbers describe the problem a CRM solves: every inquiry needs an owner, a source and a deadline. A solo estate planner and a 60 lawyer injury firm need different tools.

Want to see where prospects find your firm before they ever reach a form? Request a free visibility audit and get a plain read on your search and AI presence.

This guide ranks nine real options by firm type. Prices come from each vendor’s own pricing page, checked in October 2026. Where a vendor posts no price, we say “quote based” and do not guess. For prices by tier, read how much law firm CRM software costs. This post is about fit.

Which law firm CRM is best for your firm in 2026?

Pick by lead volume and by whether you already pay for practice management. The table compares nine options on intake automation, e-signature, payments, integrations and starting price, then gives a decision for each. Feature notes reflect what each vendor’s pricing page states, so a blank in the page means “not stated” and not “missing.”

OptionIntake automationE-signPaymentsIntegrations statedStarting price tierDecision
HubSpot CRMGeneral forms and sales workflows, no legal intakeNot on the pricing pageNot on the pricing pageGmail and OutlookFree for 2 users; Starter from $7 per seat per monthBest for a solo lawyer who wants a free pipeline
MyCaseClient intake forms and legal CRM from ProUnlimited from ProOnline payments on every planLawPay add-onBasic $50, Pro $100, Advanced $130 per user per month, annual billingBest for small firms that want billing and intake in one login
PracticePantherIntake forms from BusinessNative, from BusinessePayments from SoloNot detailed on pricing pageSolo $49 up to Business $89 per user per month, annual billingBest for small firms that want texting and e-sign without a second tool
LawmaticsWorkflow and marketing automation on PremiumYes, from EssentialTime and Billing add-onCallRail for call trackingQuote based, 3 user minimumBest for firms with steady lead flow and a marketing plan
Clio GrowScreening, intake forms, online bookingUnlimited on Signature and EliteOnline payments in Clio ManagePart of the Clio platformManage Starter $49 per user per month; Grow is Elite or add-on, quote basedBest for firms already standardized on Clio
SmokeballIntake included in Prosper+, add-on beloweSignature from BoostOnline payments from BillNot detailed on pricing pageQuote basedBest for mid-size firms that want intake inside case management
FilevineLead Docket, Lead Docket Automation, Leads AIVinesignOnline payments in MattersNot detailed on pricing pageQuote basedBest for mid-size to large firms with a dedicated intake team
Law RulerLogic based forms that qualify or disqualify leadsOne click, text deliveryOptional add-on with feesOffice 365, Gmail, open APIQuote based, 15% saving on annual prepayBest for high volume plaintiff intake with heavy follow-up
LitifyIntake is a core moduleNot statedNot statedNot statedQuote based, demo firstBest for large injury and insurance defense firms

What are the best law firm CRMs by firm type?

Four buckets cover almost every firm.

1. Solo and small firms: HubSpot, MyCase and PracticePanther

HubSpot’s free CRM covers up to 2 users and 1,000 contacts with no time limit, and Starter begins at $7 per seat per month on the pricing page we fetched. Choose it when you only need a pipeline, tasks and email logging. The limit is that it has no conflict checks, engagement letters or matter conversion, so a lead still gets retyped into your case system.

MyCase and PracticePanther are practice management tools with intake included higher up the ladder. MyCase puts client intake forms and legal CRM at Pro, listed at $100 per user per month on annual billing, with unlimited e-signature and document generation. Its Basic plan at $50 has contact management only. Choose MyCase when you want billing, matters and intake together. The limit is the jump from Basic to Pro, which doubles the seat price.

PracticePanther lists Solo at $49, Essential at $69, Business at $89 and Business Pro at $114 per user per month on annual billing. Intake forms, native e-signature and two way texting start at Business. Choose it when texting and e-sign matter to a small team. The limit is that its page describes CRM as contact and matter management, with no separate lead pipeline report, so test source tracking before you sign.

2. Firms that want automated intake: Lawmatics and Clio Grow

Lawmatics is the dedicated legal CRM most often named in this category. Its Essential plan covers intake, lead management, calendaring, custom forms, e-signature and SMS with 500 contacts. Premium adds workflow and marketing automation, round robin scheduling, advanced conflict checking, email marketing and ROI tracking, with 10,000 contacts. Choose it when you run paid campaigns and want automated follow-up by source. The limits are a 3 user minimum on Essential and Premium, quote only pricing, and AI lead qualification and Time and Billing sold as extra cost add-ons.

Clio Grow handles lead screening by phone, web chat or email, customizable intake forms and online appointment booking. Clio’s pricing page includes it in Elite and sells it as an add-on for Core and Signature. Choose it when your matters and billing already live in Clio Manage, which starts at $49 per user per month. The limit is that Starter excludes intake forms and the add-on price needs a sales call.

3. Mid-size firms: Smokeball and Filevine

Smokeball sells four tiers: Bill, Boost, Grow and Prosper+. Lead management and inquiry intake come with Prosper+, and intake is an add-on to Boost and Grow. The page lists no prices and says cost depends on users, plan, contract term and add-ons. Choose it when documents, email and cases should feed one system. The limit is paying for the top tier to get native lead management.

Filevine does not name a product “CRM.” Its Intake package includes Lead Docket, Lead Docket Automation and Leads AI, and its pricing page says all packages are custom built with a quote. Choose it when an intake team of several people needs lead tracking connected to matters, e-signature through Vinesign and online payments. The limit is that the price stays hidden until a sales call.

4. High volume and enterprise firms: Law Ruler and Litify

Law Ruler is a client relationship platform with a sales pipeline, built in softphone, logic based intake forms that can qualify or disqualify a lead automatically, one click e-signature, marketing automation by email, SMS and voice, and open API access on all tiers. Pro and Premium support up to 3 users, Enterprise has a 10 user minimum, and Pro and Premium carry a one time onboarding fee. Choose it when speed to contact is your edge. The limit is that payments are an optional add-on with fees, and the page gives no details.

Litify positions itself as an enterprise platform with intakes, matters, documents, timekeeping and eBilling, aimed at personal injury, insurance defense and immigration practices. Choose it when you run intake as a department and want one system of record. The limit is a demo led buying process, no public price, and a scale a ten lawyer firm will not use.

How do Clio Grow and Lawmatics compare on intake?

Lawmatics goes deeper on marketing automation, while Clio Grow wins when your billing and matters already run on Clio. If you are not on Clio, Lawmatics is usually the better test. If you are on Clio Manage, ask for the Grow quote first, because switching platforms costs more than any intake feature gap.

Lawmatics requires 3 users on Essential and Premium and lists a CallRail integration. Clio lists e-signature allowances of 3 on Starter, 15 on Core and unlimited on Signature and Elite, and charges 1% on eCheck and ACH and 2.95% on cards. Run both against the same ten real leads, and pick the tool that gets a form signed and a consultation booked fastest.

Should you buy a CRM or a practice management suite like MyCase, PracticePanther or Smokeball?

Buy the suite if you have three or fewer people touching leads. Buy a dedicated CRM when lead volume outgrows the suite’s intake forms. A suite avoids retyping a signed lead into a matter, and a dedicated CRM gives you better source tracking and automation.

Many firms get by on the intake inside a suite or a shared inbox, so a missing CRM is not automatically a mistake.

Move to a dedicated tool when you cannot report signed cases by lead source, when no one owns same day follow up, or when staff retype intake data into two systems. Calls that never reach the CRM are a separate leak, and our ranking of call tracking software for law firms covers the tools that pass phone leads in with a source attached.

What should you ask Filevine, Litify and Law Ruler before you sign?

Ask for a written total at your user count, plus add-ons, term and data export terms.

  1. What is the monthly cost at my user count, billed monthly and annually?
  2. Which features are add-ons: texting, AI qualification, payments, call tracking?
  3. What are the minimum seats, onboarding fee and term?
  4. How do I export contacts, lead history and documents if I leave?

Law Ruler states a one time onboarding fee, and Smokeball says price depends on users, plan, term and add-ons. Run a trial on two options with real leads. MyCase lists a 10 day free trial and PracticePanther a 7 day trial, and HubSpot has a free tier. For the vendors without a trial, ask for a sandbox. Reviews feed intake too, and our guide to review management software for law firms covers that layer.

Will a CRM bring in more cases?

No. A CRM manages the leads you already have, so it raises your close rate on inquiries and does nothing to raise the number of inquiries. Prospects who ask ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews or Perplexity for a lawyer reach a shortlist before they ever see your intake form.

Being named on that shortlist depends on credible third party coverage of your firm, which is the work Subscribe PR does through press placements for law firms. That is a separate budget and it comes second. Fix follow-up first, because buying more demand for a leaky intake process wastes the spend.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best CRM for a solo lawyer?

For a solo lawyer, HubSpot’s free CRM is the cheapest start, covering up to 2 users and 1,000 contacts. If you also need billing and matters, MyCase Pro at $100 per user per month on annual billing or PracticePanther Business at $89 includes intake forms. Lawmatics needs 3 users on its listed plans, so a solo lawyer cannot buy it as posted.

Is Clio Grow worth it if I do not use Clio Manage?

Usually not. Clio positions Grow as part of its platform, included in Elite and sold as an add-on to Core and Signature, so its value rises when your matters and billing sit in Clio. Without Clio Manage you duplicate data. Test Lawmatics or your current suite’s intake first, then compare the written Grow quote.

Which CRM has the best intake automation for law firms?

Lawmatics and Law Ruler list the deepest automation on their pages. Lawmatics offers workflow and marketing automation on Premium, and Law Ruler offers logic based forms that qualify or disqualify leads automatically. Filevine’s Lead Docket Automation and Leads AI compete for larger teams. None publish prices, so run a demo with your real intake script.

Do law firms need a CRM at all?

Not always. The ABA TechReport 2022 found only 17% of solo attorneys and 39% of firms with 2 to 9 lawyers using CRM, and many firms manage with practice management intake. You need a CRM when you cannot report signed cases by lead source, miss same day follow ups, or retype intake data into two systems.

Which law firm CRM publishes its pricing?

Few do. HubSpot, MyCase, PracticePanther and Clio Manage Starter post prices, while Lawmatics, Smokeball, Filevine, Law Ruler and Litify use quotes. Clio posts only $49 per user per month for Manage Starter and no Grow price. Treat any quote based vendor as unpriced until you hold a written estimate.

The short version

Small firms should start free with HubSpot or use the intake inside MyCase or PracticePanther. Firms with real lead flow should test Lawmatics, or Clio Grow if they already run Clio. High volume plaintiff firms should get written quotes from Filevine, Law Ruler and Litify, and Smokeball fits firms that want intake inside case management.

The software is the small decision. The large one is whether every inquiry gets an owner, a source and an answer the same day. Measure signed cases by source, and let the data tell you when to upgrade.

Ready to see how prospects find your firm before they reach your CRM? Run the free audit and get a clear picture of your visibility in search and AI answers.

Tagged

law firm crm legal intake lawmatics clio grow practice management